Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As a first-time Mother, I didn’t realise how much my own routine would be thrown out of whack by setting up my mini-kind’s sleep-eat-play habits.

Before my son was born, I had a regular skincare routine, exfoliated weekly and made sure I put on body lotion everyday. Oh how that has changed. It’s not that I don’t care, I do. I’m just time-poor most-mornings in between getting a sippy cup full of milk and changing a dirty nappy plus managing to squeeze in a hot coffee. And I’m exhausted at night.

It took me no time at all to realise that I had to cut down my skincare and makeup routines so that I could prioritise other things, like sleep and coffee. To do this I had to make my products work double as hard so that I could effectively cut my time in the bathroom in half. So this is how I began…

I am a big advocate for making sure that your skin is moisturised daily. Even though I’ve been worn down and am tired, I’ve made sure I’ve continued that routine. When I have only slept 3 hours a night, it has made me feel a little more human. I also have a rosewater toner that I only use occasionally that is great for refreshing tired skin (Bliss has a similar one to mine called Daily Detoxifying Facial Toner). It’s important however, to make sure your moisturiser has sunscreen in it (covering two products). Even better if you have a tinted moisturizer with sunscreen (extra points for 3 products. I use Dr. Denese Hydrashield Tinted Moisturizer).  At night, I use a night moisturiser (Olay Regenerist Revitalizing Cream) as it’s richer, has no sunscreen that will clog your pores and is totally pointless in the dark.

I have sensitive skin and only exfoliate weekly with a cleanser that has clear beads in it in the shower (I use Philosophy Microdelivery Micro-massage Exfoliating Wash. Nightly, I simply remove my makeup with aloe-vera lotion on makeup pads. I have learnt from experience that anything harsher will cause me to break-out. This is also very quick.

When Cam was very little, I was known to either not wear any makeup as I was simply too tired, or I would put on my concealer with some bronzer which doubled as eyeshadow. Luckily, I have more time these days.

A good way to get your makeup done in 5 minutes is to use a good-quality concealer that you know will last the day and that will hide those tired eyes (Such as Lancome Flash Retouche Brush On Concealer $45 from Fresh). Use a powder (MAC Mineralize Skin Finish is fantastic) to seal your face and ensure that the concealer lasts the day. Use a bronzer on your cheeks and eyes (one like Makeup Forever Mat Bronze Bronzing Powder), therefore giving your face some much-needed colour after a sleepless night.  A great mascara (Kevyn Aucoin Curling Mascara I cannot rave about enough) also opens up your eyes. To finish, put on a coloured gloss (L’Occitanne Cherry Blossom Lip Gloss provides a light colour, lots of gloss and no stickiness). There, you’re done in 5 minutes!  Now, where did put my mug?

