Tags

,

Image

It seems the fairytale has become a beauty trend lately, with pale faces and vermilion lips popping up on catwalks and red carpets everywhere from Gucci, to Donna Karan to Jessica Alba. It seems the recent spate of fairytale-inspired movies and TV series has moved into real life.
The upside? This look is very flattering and achievable.  The ultimate focus is on the lips, so making sure you have an amazing dark red lipstick is key. Dior has a fabulous lipstick called Iconic Red. It’s a moisturising lipstick, so won’t leave your lips cracked and the colour won’t bleed.  This is quite a bright red colour, you may want a darker red, depending on your skintone.
Obviously before your lipstick, you will need to prep your face. I would recommend doing your normal routine: in my case, I apply my Dr. Denese tinted moisturiser with sunscreen, my Kevyn Aucoin concealer and powder and a Stila bronzer. Then I begin my eyes.
Because this look is focussed on your lips, you want your eyes to be simple. If you have too much eyeshadow applied, you will end up looking overdone. I would recommend applying a brown and pink eyeshadow. This will look fab with your red lippie – I promise!  But if you are concerned that you may look teary, apply more brown than pink. I would use Christian Dior Sunset Café. Also use a brown eyeliner (pencil not gel) . YSL has a great eyeliner pencil in Hazelnut brown. For your lashes, use Clinique High Impact Curling mascara in black.
To ensure that your lips remain where they should be all day, apply a lip liner not just around the edge of your lips, but also colour your lips in. The shade should be one shade lighter than the lipstick. In this case, I recommend Lancome Le Contour Pro Precision and Long Lasting Lipcontour in Rouge Tulipe. Once applied, put on your lipstick carefully with a lip brush. This should help your lipstick stay for longer and not bleed into the edges of your lips.
So now that you are the fairest of them all, go find yourself a handsome prince and 7 dwarves!

